Executive Team

Rod Brooks

Rod Brooks

President & CEO View Full Bio

Rod Brooks began serving in July 2006 as CEO of Stop Hunger Now. In this capacity, he provides leadership and direction toward the achievement of the organization’s mission to end world hunger, focusing on service programs, fundraising, financial and administrative management. Rod has spent nearly twenty years working in the non-profit sector. Prior to directing Stop Hunger Now, Rod worked for sixteen years creating Exploris (now titled Marbles Kid’s Museum), an interactive museum about the world, ultimately serving as Vice President for Administration.

Rod is active in the community as a member of the Cary Rotary Club, the Raleigh Host Lions Club, Fairmont United Methodist Church, and NC Partners of the Americas. He has been recognized for his leadership of Kids Voting Wake County and received the James S. Bramham Humanitarian Award from NC Partners of the Americas. He received a B.A. in Economics and Spanish from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1989. He speaks Spanish fluently. Rod lives in Raleigh with his wife, Terry Jasper Brooks, and daughter, Vivian.

Bob Dixson

Bob Dixson

Chief Financial Officer View Full Bio

Bob Dixson is an experienced financial executive, having served as CFO or COO for a variety of companies. Since 1998, Mr. Dixson has served as Chief Financial Officer, typically two or three days a week as interim, part-time, or for special projects, in such diverse industries as manufacturing (pharmaceuticals, enzyme-enhanced feed products, bio-filters for pharma, food products, dish detergent, Christmas decorations and gemstones), high tech (software development, wireless, product engineering), retail (home furnishings), importing and distribution (medical equipment, tobacco products and consumer durables), services (mental health clinic chain, investment bank, law firm, veterinary hospital chain, HR outsourcing), and non-profit (substance abuse treatment, hunger relief, art museum, children’s museum, middle school, adoption and family services, and funding for community re-development).

He has established three, five, and 25-year plans (business plans and detailed cash forecasts), raised capital for equity and bank credit, guided mergers including due diligence, introduced financial reporting and control systems, created costing systems and product pricing models, negotiated leases and economic incentive packages, restructured 401(k), stock option and other incentive packages, and revitalized accounting departments by implementing new software, reorganizing personnel, hiring, and training.

Mr. Dixson holds a BA in economics from Emory University where he was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society. He attended Columbia University in a Ph.D. program in economics as a Fellow of the Faculty. He was certified by the Institute of Management Accountants with a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) certificate. He is a member of the Center for Entrepreneurial Development and the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners.

Jim Green

Jim Green

Chief Development Officer View Full Bio

While serving in the United States Air Force in the Middle East and as an aid volunteer in India, Jim witnessed the terrible effects of abject and generational poverty on children and families. As a disaster relief worker in Indonesia after the December 2004 Tsunami, he was transformed by the pain and suffering of thousands. During these experiences, the most common need he saw was the basic need for food. Jim firmly believes that this problem is solvable.

Jim Green has dedicated his professional life to serve others and, after his military service, he served as the Director of Campaign for Pikes Peak United Way in Colorado Springs, Colorado, where he raised $30 million in five years. As Senior Vice President of Resource Development at United Way of the Greater Triangle, he raised more than $66.5 million in four years. He currently volunteers on several committees and boards in Raleigh and Wake County.

Jim Green is a graduate of the Defense Language Institute’s Arabic program. He holds a B.A. in Middle East Studies and Arabic from the University of Utah, graduating Cum Laude in 2003. He earned an MBA from the University of Colorado in 2009.

Jim lives in Cary, North Carolina, with the love of his life, Heather, their young children, Harrison and Harper, and their dog, Ginger.

Tom Barbitta

Tom Barbitta

Chief Marketing Officer View Full Bio

Tom has more than 30 years of global brand sales and marketing experience focused on innovative brand strategy, elevating organizations, and building strong teams. His experience spans a wide range of U.S. based multinational companies specific to consumer packaged goods categories.

In 2005 Tom joined the Carolina Beverage Corporation as its Vice President of Marketing overseeing the marketing of Cheerwine. Tom’s stewardship has contributed to the widespread expansion of Cheerwine in the U.S.  Prior to Cheerwine, Tom served as a consultant to several Southeast Asian firms, conducting brand building seminars in Vietnam, Indonesia and Thailand.

Tom’s background includes positions with Miller Brewing Company, Thomas J. Lipton (Unilever) and Nabisco, where he spent 11 years leading brand marketing and sales for the Planters nut franchise. In 1995, Tom was recruited by the Oberto Company in Kent Washington to help the Oberto Beef Jerky brand move to the next level.

Tom received a nomination to the United States Military Academy at West Point and earned a B.A. in Economics from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He is actively involved in the community having coached high school athletics and with his family training guide dogs for the blind. He is married with three adult children and is actively involved in the community having coached high school athletics and with his family training guide dogs for the blind. Tom’s family founded their own non-profit organization called Cake for Kids Cambodia (www.cakeforkidscambodia.org).  Through this activity he travels bi-annually to Cambodia to work in local hardship areas teaching children English and life skills and applying resources toward the most critical needs.

Edna Ogwangi

Edna Ogwangi

Chief Impact Officer View Full Bio

Edna Ogwangi holds a Masters in Social Work (MSW) degree with specialization in International Development and Administration. Prior to joining Stop Hunger Now, she served for fifteen years at Land O’Lakes, most recently as Senior Manager of the Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Department. She is an accomplished International Project Management, Monitoring and Evaluation Professional, with extensive experience in managing and implementing economic development and school feeding programs around the globe. She has managed US Federal Government, United States Agency for International Development (USAID), and United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) programs. She has extensive knowledge in donor reporting procedures, best practices, guidelines, and applicable tools for monitoring and evaluation of development, school feeding and nutrition projects.  She has served as an active member of the USAID Learning Lab where she has contributed to several webinar sessions and learning blogs. Edna also co-lead the Land O’ Lakes International Development Gender Task Force which spearheaded gender initiatives in all of their programming. She shares, “My passion is to work with underprivileged groups of people and try to alleviate hunger and empower them to better their lives, while improving one life at a time in developing countries that we work in.”

Administrative Staff

Matt Anlyan | Monitoring & Evaluation Systems Manager | manlyan@stophungernow.org
Jolynn Berk | Dir. of Grant & Foundation Relations | jberk@stophungernow.org
Samantha Bottomley Accounting Administrator | sbottomley@stophungernow.org
Joseph Brumley | Learning Coordinator | jbrumley@stophungernow.org
Brenda Contreras | Human Resources Assistant | bcontreras@stophungernow.org
Karen Cook | Director of Communications | kcook@stophungernow.org
Chris CravenDir. of Organizational Partnerships | ccraven@stophungernow.org
Emily Doyle | Receptionist | edoyle@stophungernow.org
Rachel Gonzalez | North and Central America Event Manager |  rscully@stophungernow.org
Jackie Gottlieb | IT Development Manager | jgottlieb@stophungernow.org
Steve Hickle | Faith Outreach Directorshickle@stophungernow.org
Pattie HoflandInternational Development Officer | phofland@stophungernow.org
Anita Horne | Administrative Assistantahorne@stophungernow.org
Mickey HornerDir. of Expansion & Program Innovationmhorner@stophungernow.org
Travis HuckabaRevenue Accountantthuckaba@stophungernow.org
Christopher Jones | Rotary Relations Manager | cjones@stophungernow.org
Rick Kearney | Program Directorrkearney@stophungernow.org
Jonathan Kundrat | Corporate Accounts Executive-Southeast Region | jkundrat@stophungernow.org
Maggie Luckadoo | Marketing Copywriter | mluckadoo@stophungernow.org
Kevin MageeMajor Gifts Officer | kmagee@stophungernow.org
Toni Marraccini | Corporate Accounts Executive | tmarraccini@stophungernow.org
Lance Morrison | Program Monitoring & Evaluation Associate | lmorrison@stophungernow.org
Lori Nelson | Data Clerk | lnelson@stophungernow.org
Karen Noe | Dir. of Corporate Relations & Partnerships | knoe@stophungernow.org
Natalie Norton | Corporate Relations Coordinator | nnorton@stophungernow.org
Paul Renaud | Aid Procurement Directorprenaud@stophungernow.org
Kimberly RochesterPayroll and Credit Card Specialist | krochester@stophungernow.org
Silvia RoscotFood Security, Crisis, & Resilience Technical Advisor| sroscot@stophungernow.org
Marc RossiIT Operations Managermrossi@stophungernow.org
Ryan RotanzInternational Project Coordinator | rrotanz@stophungernow.org
Bill Rubin | Accounting Assistant | brubin@stophungernow.org
Julie SavaneFood Aid M&E Partner Coordinator | jsavane@stophungernow.org
Kara ShultzDir. of Annual Giving & Organizational Stewardshipkshultz@stophungernow.org
Karen Smaha | Food Aid Logistics Coordinator | ksmaha@stophungernow.org
Roberta SorensenFinance Directorrsorensen@stophungernow.org
Kati Struett | Director of Human Resources | estruett@stophungernow.org
Matt Styslinger | Food Security M&E, Partner Engagement Manager | mstyslinger@stophungernow.org
Karen Sullivan | Dir. of Marketing & Creative Servicesksullivan@stophungernow.org
Andrew SullivanDir. of International Affiliate Developmentasullivan@stophungernow.org
Mariel Tanner | Development Coordinator | mtanner@stophungernow.org
Billy Taylor | Dir. of Major Gifts | btaylor@stophungernow.org
Brandon Tisa | Database Analystbtisa@stophungernow.org
Carolyn Turney | Manager of Digital Engagement | cturney@stophungernow.org
Tom Warren  | Support Technician | twarren@stophungernow.org
Sean Watson | IT Directorswatson@stophungernow.org

Domestic Program Staff

Atlanta, Georgia

Kyle Galenski | Regional Program Managerkgalenski@stophungernow.org
Michael AshleyProgram Managermashley@stophungernow.org
Ryan Sanders | Assistant Program Managerrsanders@stophungernow.org
Deanna Lancaster | Warehouse Administrator | dlancaster@stophungernow.org
Daniel Hatcher | Program Warehouse Coordinator | dhatcher@stophungernow.org
Chelsea Wood | Program Warehouse Coordinator | cwood@stophungernow.org

Charlotte, North Carolina

Brandon Faulkner | Regional Program Managerbfaulkner@stophungernow.org
David Thomas-BushAssistant Program Managerdthomasbush@stophungernow.org
Valerie CarpenterAssistant Program Managervcarpenter@stophungernow.org

Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas

Jeff JonesProgram Managerjjones@stophungernow.org
Stephen MahlerAssistant Program Managersmahler@stophungernow.org

Eastern North Carolina

Chris SingletonProgram Managercsingleton@stophungernow.org
Kathi ShanerAssistant Program Managerkshaner@stophungernow.org

Hampton Roads, Virginia

Mike NelsonProgram Manager | mnelson@stophungernow.org

Houston, Texas

Mike Bell | Program Managermbell@stophungernow.org
Cathrine Mayfield | Warehouse Administrator  | cmayfield@stophungernow.org

Indianapolis, Indiana

Tracey Edwards | Program Manager | tedwards@stophungernow.org
Nathan Sandlin | Assistant Program Manager | nsandlin@stophungernow.org

Jackson, Mississippi

Pat Ware | Program Manager | pware@stophungernow.org
Alex Fraser | Assistant Program Manager | afraser@stophungernow.org

Kansas City, Missouri

Baylee DeLaurier | Program Manager | bdelaurier@stophungernow.org
Joe Falter | Assistant Program Manager | jfalter@stophungernow.org

Lynchburg, Virginia

Troy Henson | Program Manager | thenson@stophungernow.org
Tray Light | Assistant Program Manager | tlight@stophungernow.org
Spencer Merricks | Multi-Site Event Coordinator | smerricks@stophungernow.org

Nashville, Tennessee

Eric Taft | Program Manager | etaft@stophungernow.org

National Capital

Dominic Alexander | Regional Program Manager | dalexander@stophungernow.org
Joseph Gautier | Program Warehouse Coordinator | jgautier@stophungernow.org
Jeffrey Mizell | Program Manager | jmizell@stophungernow.org
Alex HartAssistant Program Manager | ahart@stophungernow.org

New England

Marc Vermouth | Program Manager | mvermouth@stophungernow.org
Danielle McCrary | Assistant Program Manager | dmccrary@stophungernow.org

New York

Steve Reiss | Program Manager | sreiss@stophungernow.org
Bruce Ladson | Assistant Program Manager | bladson@stophungernow.org

Northern California

Jordan MarvinAssistant Program Managerjmarvin@stophungernow.org
Andrew DeJesus | Program Warehouse Coordinator | adejesus@stophungernow.org

Orlando, Florida

Rebecca Waggoner | Program Manager | rwaggoner@stophungernow.org
Stephanie Sheffield | Assistant Program Manager | ssheffield@stophungernow.org
Jason Haulbrook | Program Warehouse Coordinator | jhaulbrook@stophungernow.org

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Richard Armenia | Program Manager | rarmenia@stophungernow.org
Ben Gerrish | Assistant Program Manager | bgerrish@stophungernow.org
Latoya Gillyard | Program Logistic Coordinator | lgillyard@stophungernow.org
Teresa Yacono | Program Operations Assistant  | tyacono@stophungernow.org
Ryan Ehnts | Program Warehouse Coordinator | rehnts@stophungernow.org

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Andrew Moser | Program Manager | amoser@stophungernow.org
Shaun Starkey | Assistant Program Manager | sstarkey@stophungernow.org

Raleigh, North Carolina

Terry Brown | Regional Program Manager | tbrown@stophungernow.org
Darron Stover | Program Manager | dstover@stophungernow.org
Zach Karges | Program Warehouse Coordinator | zkarges@stophungernow.org

Richmond, Virginia

Mike Nelson | Program Manager | mnelson@stophungernow.org
Sally Bull | Assistant Program Manager | sbull@stophungernow.org
Betty Garnett | Warehouse Administrator | bgarnett@stophungernow.org
Tony Cornicello | Program Coordinator | tcornicello@stophungernow.org

Southern California

Ryan Pond | Program Manager | rpond@stophungernow.org
Joel BoucherAssistant Program Manager | jboucher@stophungernow.org
Maya Azimioara | Program Logistics Coordinator | mazimioara@stophungernow.org
Alex Martinez | Program Warehouse Coordinator | amartinez@stophungernow.org

International Program Staff

Jordan Lynch | International Affiliate Manager | jlynch@stophungernow.org
Matt Casteel
| Program Manager | mcasteel@stophungernow.org
Kate Millman
| Program Manager | kmillman@stophungernow.org

International Affiliates

Stop Hunger Now India

Dola Mohapatra | Executive Director | dmohapatra@stophungernow.org.in

Stop Hunger Now Italia

Roberta Baldazzi | Executive Director | roberta.baldazzi@shnitalia.it

Stop Hunger Now Malaysia

Tiki Keh | Executive Director  | tkeh@stophungernow.org.my

Stop Hunger Now Peru

Manny Espinonza | Executive Directormespinoza@stophungernow.org

Stop Hunger Now Philippines

Jomar Fleras | Executive Director | jfleras@stophungernow.org.ph

Stop Hunger Now Southern Africa

Saira Khan | Chief Executive Officer | sairak@stophungernowsa.org

Learn more about our Founder (1)