Undergraduate and graduate students with a passion to end hunger are invited to apply for the Clinton Hunger Leadership Award. Named in honor of President Bill Clinton for his commitment to humanitarian causes including the eradication of hunger, the award recognizes outstanding leadership in the movement to end hunger. The winner will receive a cash award to use towards an educational experience that will advance their knowledge and understanding of hunger and related issues.

The award is co-sponsored by Stop Hunger Now and NC State University’s Center for Student Leadership, Ethics & Public Service. The award will be presented to the winner at the 2017 Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit, March 24-25, 2017, at Walsh University in Canton, Ohio.

Award Criteria:

  • Must be an enrolled student at an accredited post-secondary institution
  • Demonstrated leadership in the fight against hunger
  • Commitment to a life of service in the area of hunger, poverty reduction, or related discipline

How to Apply:

Submit your completed application (below), including one reference and your responses to two essay questions related to your efforts to provide leadership in the fight against hunger.

  • The initial application period runs from Monday, August 1 to Monday, October 3, 2016.
  • The top 5 finalists will then be asked to submit a 3-5 minute video detailing their vision for a world without hunger for Round 2, which will run from Monday, October 10 to Monday, November 7, 2016.

Clinton Hunger Leadership Award Application 2016

The winner will be notified by Wednesday, December 7, and should plan to attend the March 24-25 Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit.  All expenses to attend the Summit will be covered as part of the scholarship award.

Read an inspiring update from 2016 Clinton Hunger Leadership Award winner Balanding Manneh about his work to end hunger in The Gambia, as well as a Washington Post article about 2015 winner Maria Rose Belding’s efforts in the U.S.

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2016 – Balanding Manneh, Arizona State University
  • 2015 – Maria Rose Belding, American University
  • 2014 – Azeem Ahmed, Auburn University
  • 2014 – Honorable Mention: Patricia Paskov, University of Wisconsin
  • 2013 – Brendan Rice, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • 2013 – Honorable Mention: Devin Yeomans, Auburn University
  • 2012 – Ryan O’Donnell, North Carolina State University
  • 2011 – Gavin R. Armstrong, University of Guelph,
  • 2011 – Honorable Mention: Ellen Luby Orabone, American University
  • 2010 – Sarah Nam, Harvard University
  • 2009 – John Coggin, North Carolina State University
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
Click to Share